Events

Everything You Wanted to Know About Rashi but were Afraid to Ask

New hybrid course with Esther Lapian, Tuesdays, 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. (Israel time), starting October 19 2021.

Dates:
Tuesday, 19/10/2021 | 10:30 - 12:00
Tuesday, 26/10/2021
Tuesday, 02/11/2021
Tuesday, 09/11/2021
Tuesday, 16/11/2021
Tuesday, 23/11/2021
Tuesday, 07/12/2021
Tuesday, 14/12/2021
Tuesday, 21/12/2021
Tuesday, 28/12/2021
Location:
Hybrid Course: Live on Zoom and Broadcast from Jerusalem
Details:
Phone:
074-7800673

Do you find yourself bewildered when hearing Rashi quoted in reverence?

What does Rashi’s commentary really do does it enhance the Biblical text or simply explain it? What in fact is the nature of this commentary – is it “pshat” – the plain sense of the text, or is it “drash” homiletics? Why do we need commentary at all? Why does Rashi’s commentary have a special place in every Hebrew Bible curriculum?

This course will analyze carefully selected commentaries by Rashi reflecting his deep understanding of Scripture, his respect for the rabbinic sages (Hazal), and his desire to use tools of grammar and close reading to uncover both simple and subtle understandings of the Torah.


Tuition: IS 725 per course

10% discount for pre-registration for one series (10 classes): 650 shekels (prior to  October 3, 2021)

10% discount price for 2 series of classes, 15% discount price for 3 series of classes or more

For further information

Everything You Wanted to Know About Rashi but were Afraid to Ask



    Join our mailing list

    Sign up to our newsletter for the newest articles, events and updates.




      * We hate spam too! And will never share or sell your email or contact information with anyone

      Skip to content