Events

The History of the Jews of Rome (with virtual tours)

New Zoom course with Dr. Shulamit Furstenberg-Levi. Sundays, 4:30PM – 6:00PM (Israel time) 9:30 am – EST | 8:30 am – CST | 6:30 am – PDT -- Starting March 6, 2022.

Dates:
Sunday, 06/03/2022 | 16:30 - 18:00
Sunday, 13/03/2022
Sunday, 20/03/2022
Sunday, 27/03/2022
Sunday, 03/04/2022
Sunday, 24/04/2022
Sunday, 01/05/2022
Sunday, 08/05/2022
Sunday, 15/05/2022
Sunday, 22/05/2022
Location:
On-line via Zoom
Details:
Phone:
074-7800673

The Jewish community in Rome is one of the most ancient among the Jewish Diasporas that have remained continuously up until today. We will examine Roman Jewry’s rich, particular and diversified history which is a result of its ancient origins together with the multiple traditions that joined the community throughout the centuries.

The course will be based on readings, recordings of liturgical music from the various traditions and will include various virtual tours in “Jewish Rome” such as the Jewish catacombs from over two thousand years ago and the former Jewish ghetto, constructed in the sixteenth century.

One class will be devoted to a live visit to the Umberto Nahon Museum of Italian Jewish Art in Jerusalem (admission is not included in tuition), which will be recorded for those unable to attend.


Tuition:

  • Early bird discount: $210 / ILS 650 for 10 classes
  • After February 20, 2022:  $235 / ILS 725

10% discount price for 2 series of classes, 15% discount price for 3 series of classes

All courses dependent upon sufficient registration.

Join our mailing list

Sign up to our newsletter for the newest articles, events and updates.




    * We hate spam too! And will never share or sell your email or contact information with anyone

    Skip to content