Events

The Joseph Stories: from Enslavement to Meteoric Success

with Esther Lapian, Tuesdays, 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. (Israel time). starting November 3, 2020.

Dates:
Tuesday, 03/11/2020 | 10:30 - 12:00
Tuesday, 10/11/2020
Tuesday, 17/11/2020
Tuesday, 24/11/2020
Tuesday, 01/12/2020
Tuesday, 08/12/2020
Tuesday, 22/12/2020
Tuesday, 29/12/2020
Tuesday, 05/01/2021
Tuesday, 12/01/2021
Location:
All courses will be held on-line via Zoom
Details:
Phone:
074-7800673

The Joseph stories are one of the richest narratives in the Bible.  They tell of parental misjudgments, sibling fury, enslavement, estrangement, and meteoric success.

But in the end we remain baffled by big questions: What is the purpose of these complex stories? What do they come to teach us?

Why did the Rabbis call Joseph, Yosef HaTzaddik, Joseph the Pious One, when his behavior reflects the opposite?  Was Joseph noble or knave?

Were Joseph and his brothers instruments in the hand of God, vehicles to move the Israelites down to Egypt, or were they free agents, accountable for their actions?

Using close reading, midrash, and intertextual comparisons, we will address these questions and others.


Tuition: IS 725 per course

10% discount for pre-registration for one series (10 classes): 650 shekels (prior to  October 26, 2020)

10% discount price for 2 series of classes, 15% discount price for 3 series of classes or more

 

All courses will be held on-line via Zoom

The Joseph Stories: from Enslavement to Meteoric Success

For further information



    Join our mailing list

    Sign up to our newsletter for the newest articles, events and updates.




      * We hate spam too! And will never share or sell your email or contact information with anyone

      Skip to content