Events

Threefold Human Relationships in the Bible and in Art

with Dr. Shula Laderman, Wednesdays, 12:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. (Israel time), starting March 10 2021.

Dates:
Wednesday, 10/03/2021 | 12:30 - 14:00
Wednesday, 17/03/2021
Wednesday, 24/03/2021
Wednesday, 07/04/2021
Wednesday, 21/04/2021
Wednesday, 28/04/2021
Wednesday, 05/05/2021
Wednesday, 12/05/2021
Wednesday, 19/05/2021
Wednesday, 26/05/2021
Location:
All courses will be held on-line via Zoom
Details:
Phone:
074-7800673

Over the centuries, artists – Jewish and Christian alike – have read the biblical text carefully and interpreted it visually. In this course. we will explore visual commentary concerning some of these complex human relationships. We will examine illuminated manuscripts and paintings of Bible stories that portray groups of three or more protagonists with conflicting interests, among them Abraham, Sarah, and Hagar; Isaac, Rebecca, and the twins; Jacob, Joseph, and the brothers; and Moses, Aaron, and Miriam. We will look at the way the rivalries are dealt with in Jewish and Christian sources, how they are visualized in works of art, what the artists stressed in the episodes, and the literary sources that might have influenced them.


Tuition: IS 725 per course

10% discount for pre-registration for one series (10 classes): 650 shekels (prior to  March 3, 2021)

10% discount price for 2 series of classes, 15% discount price for 3 series of classes or more

 

All courses will be held on-line via Zoom

For further information

Threefold Human Relationships in the Bible and in Art



    Join our mailing list

    Sign up to our newsletter for the newest articles, events and updates.




      * We hate spam too! And will never share or sell your email or contact information with anyone

      Skip to content